Structure of Government
The Village of Hartville is comprised of a Mayor/Council form of government with a Fiscal Officer. The funding for the Village is generated by a 1% income tax on employees and businesses in the community. The Village contracts for the services of the Village Solicitor and Village Engineer. A full service Street Department and Waste Water Treatment Plant, as well as a 24 hour Police and Fire Department are provided to our residents.

The Mayor and Council members have the voting power to create, pass, or disapprove local laws, ordinances, and resolutions that govern the Village.

The Mayor is the chief conservator of peace within the Village of Hartville. The mayor appoints all boards and commissions. The mayor chairs the council meetings and is expected to lead the council to resolution even on difficult issues. She is responsible for planning, organizing and directing the activities of all municipal operations.

Cindy Billings
202 W. Maple Street, Hartville, Ohio 44632
Phone: 330.877.9222

Ronald K. Starkey
Starkey Law Firm, LLC
638 W. Maple Street
Hartville, OH 44632
Phone: 330.494.9077

Fiscal Officer
In addition to keeping the financial records, the Fiscal Officer is responsible for managing the finances and accounts of the Village, assisting with the preparation of budgets and appropriations. Also, the Fiscal Officer is responsible for various general accounting procedures including financial reporting, budgetary reporting, payroll, accounts payable and accounts receivable. In addition, the Fiscal Officer shall keep the Journal of Council, a precise and complete record of all proceedings of Council, have guardianship of all laws, ordinances, and resolutions of Council, and is responsible to carry out the administrative functions of City Council.

Scott Varney, Fiscal Officer
Phone: 330.877.9222

Office Manager
Besides performing many important duties for the Village, the Office Manager is responsible for maintaining the efficient operation of the office. It is the responsibility of the Office Manager to execute many clerical tasks during the course of the day, supervise employees in the office, order supplies and manage the inventory of those supplies.

Cheryl Marcelli, Office Manager
Phone: 330.877.9222

Village Council
The legislative authority of the Village of Hartville rest in its six elected members of Council. Most powers and duties of the Village Council are set forth in the Ohio Revised Code. They must reside within the Village limits for one year preceding their election. The Mayor Pro Tem is appointed by Council. All residents are welcome to attend Council meetings, held at 7:00 pm on the first (1st) and third (3rd) Tuesdays of each month (except Holidays) at the Village Hall, 202 W. Maple Street. See the Community Calendar for the next scheduled meeting.

President of Council – Kelly Ries

Members Term Ends Contact
Elizabeth Williams  2019 330.696.0018
Kelly Ries 2021 330.354.3016
Jeff Miller 2021 330.327.3129
Bev Green 2019 330.877.6706
Jim Sullivan 2021 330.877.7605
Jeff Kozy 2021 330.267.6018

Council Committees:

  • Commerce
  • Finance
  • Personnel/Handbook
  • Planning
  • Parks & Recreation
  • Safety
  • Sewer
  • Street & Drainage
  • Zoning